Skip to content

The Two Ingredient Flour Blend

October 26, 2015

I have been taking my recipes and using a new flour blend. I just got tired of combining all those flours and having to keep them on hand. So I took the plunge and limited myself to only two: sorghum and potato starch.

So far the results have been fantastic! I have tried it in everything but pie crusts and cookies. My biscuits, waffles, pancakes, cakes, muffins and a few Alton Brown recipes have turned out great. Here is my two flour blend.

2/3 parts sorghum

1/3 part potato starch

Remeber if you are baking with eggs ALWAYS seperate them, whip up the whites, and then fold the eggs whites into the batter. It will make a noticable difference in texture. Also a teaspoon of arrowroot powder per cup of flour will help the rise.

Please try the blend and let me know if it is working for you. In the mad science world of gluten free cooking my expertiments could be a fluke too. I sure hope not.

Happy eating!

Comments are closed.

